The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
600 Washington Street

Boston, MA 02111
www.mass.gov/dia
Workers’ Compensation Insurance Affidavit: General Businesses
Applicant Information Please Print Legibly
Business/Organization Name:
Address:
City/State/Zip: Phone #:
Avre you an employer? Check the appropriate box: Business Type (required):
1.[] Iama employer with employees (full and/ 5. [] Retal
or part-time).* 4 6. [] Restaurant/Bar/Eating Establishment
2.1 Tam a sole proprietor or partnership and have no 7. [[] Office and/or Sales (incl. real estate, auto, etc.)

employees working for mesin any capacity.
[No workers® comp. insurazce required] 8. [ Non-profit
3.[ ] We are a corporation and its officers have exercised 9. [] Entertainment
their right of exemption per c. 152, §1(4), and we have 10.] Manufécturing
no employees. [No workers® comp. insurance required]**
4.[] We are a non-profit organization, staffed by volunteers, 11.[] Health Care
with no employees. [No workers’ commp. insurance req.} 12.L] Other

*Any applicant that checks box #1 must also fill out the section below showing their workers” compensation policy information.
*¥[f the corporate officers have exempted themselves, but the corporation has other employees, a workers® compensation policy is required and such an
organization should check box #1.

I am an employer that is providing workers’ compensation insurance for my employees. Below is the policy information.

Insurance Company Name:

Insurer’s Address:

City/State/Zip:

Policy # or Self-ins. Lic. # Expiration Date:

Attach a copy of the workers’ compensation policy declaration page (showing the policy number and expiration date).

Failure to secure coverage as required under Section 25A. of MGL c. 152 can lead to the imposition of criminal penalties of a
fine up to $1,500.00 and/or one-year imprisonment, as well as civil penalties in the form of a STOP WORK ORDER and a fine

of up to $250.00 a day against the violator. Be advised that a copy of this statement may be forwarded to the Office of
Investigations of the DIA for insurance coverage verification.

I do hereby certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information provided above is true and correct.

Signature: - Date:

Phone #:

Official use only. Do not write in this area, to be completed by city or town official

City or Town: Permit/License #

Issuing Authority (circle one):
1. Board of Health 2. Building Department 3. City/Town Clerk 4. Licensing Board 5. Selectmen’s Office

6. Other

Contact Person: Phone #:
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Information and Instructions

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 requires all employers to provide workers’ compensation for their employees.
Pursuant to this statute, an employee is defined as “...every person in the service of another under any contract of hire,

express or implied, oral or written.”

An employer is defined as “an individual, partnership, association, corporation or other legal entity, or any two or more
of the foregoing engaged in a joint enterprise, and including the legal representatives of a deceased employer, or the
receiver or trustee of an individual, partnership, association or other legal entity, employing employees. However, the
owner of a dwelling house having not more than three apartments and who resides therein, or the occupant of the
dwelling house of another who employs persons to do maintenance, construction or repair work on such dwelling house
or on the grounds or building appurtenant thereto shall not because of such employment be deemed to be an employer.”

MGL chapter 152, §25C(6) also states that “every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or
renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any
applicant who has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required.”
Additionally, MGL chapter 152, §25C(7) states “Neither the commonwealth nor any of its political subdivisions shall
enter into any contract for the performance of public work until acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance
requirements of this chapter have been presented to the contracting authority.”

Applicants

Please fill out the workers’ compensation=affidavit completely, by checking the boxes that apply to your situation and, if
necessary, supply your insurance company’s name, address and phone number along with a certificate of insurance.
Limited Liability Companies (LLC) or Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP) with no employees other than the members
or partners, are not required to carry worlkeérs® compensation insurance. If an LLC or LLP does have employees, a policy
is required. Be advised that this affidavit may be submitted to the Department of Industrial Accidents for confirmation of
insurance coverage. Also be sure to sign and date the affidavit. The affidavit should be returned to the city ortown
that the application for the permit or license is being requested, not the Department of Industrial Accidents. Should you
have-any questions regarding the law or if you are required to obtain a workers® compensation policy, please call the
Department at the number listed below. Self-insured companies should enter their self-insurance license number on the,
appropriate line.

City or Town Officials

Please be sure that the affidavit is complete and printed legibly. The Department has provided a space at the bottom
of the affidavit for you to fill out in the event the Office of Investigations has to contact you regarding the applicant.
Please be sure to fill in the permit/license number which will be used as a reference number. In addition, an applicant that
must submit multiple permit/license applications in any given year, need only submit one affidavit indicating current
policy information (if necessary). A copy of the affidavit that has been officially stamped or marked by the city or town
may be provided to the applicant as proof that a valid affidavit is on file for future permits or licenses. A new affidavit
must be filled out each year. Where a home owner or citizen is obtaining a license or permit not related to any business

" or commercial venture (i.e. 2 dog license or permit to burn leaves etc.) said person is NOT required to complete this
affidavit.

The Office of Investigations would like to thank you in advance for your cooperation and should you have any questions,
please do not hesitate to give us a call.

The Department’s address, telephone and fax number:

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
Office of Investigations
600 Washington Street
Boston, MA 02111
Tel. # 617-727-4900 ext 406 or 1-877-MASSAFE

Fax # 617-727-7749
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